Fort Washington Elementary School PTA

H o m e    of    t h e    P a t r i o t s !

Helpful COMMITTEE Forms


Committee Chair Guidelines:  Contains information for chairs to help organize their event/committee. 


Reimbursement Form:  Needed with your receipts to reimburse for costs incurred.  Please allow two weeks to process.


Deposit Form: Allows FWES PTA to deposit funds collected from your event.


Petty Cash Request: Allows FWES PTA to distribute cash to be used to make change for your event.


Direct Payment to Vendor:  Allows the FWES PTA to write a check directly to a vendor, please allow at least one week lead time.

Committee information


We encourage all levels of involvement, from chairing a committee to assisting in any way you can. These programs are for the benefit of our children and we need the support of many parents in order to provide them. If you want more information about a specific committee, its function, or the time commitment involved, please contact this year’s committee chair listed below. There are still openings available to co-chair several committees. Please contact Debbie Rothkopf (debbierothkopf@aol.com) if you are interested in chairing a committee of helping out!


After School Activities (ASA): Help run an activity or help with dismissal and registration. ASA will run a Fall, Winter and Spring session this year. Lots of volunteers needed!
Chairs: TBD

ASA Refreshments: Organize volunteers to sell snacks at After School Activities. 
Chairs: TBD

Assemblies: Coordinate and schedule the assemblies for the year.
Chairs: Donna Murphy (donnamurphy@verizon.net) and Lisa Lester (lisaylester@verizon.net)


Auction: Organize and run auction night on November 3rd.

Chairs: Julie Clark (juliedansbury@yahoo.com) and Margo Hurwitz (margohurwitz@gmail.com)


Big Strides: Help record laps and encourage students walk/run during lunch recess. Must be available during lunch recess on designated days in the fall.
Chair: Ginny Vitella (ginnyc@comcast.net)

Bingo Night: Run a one-night fundraiser on Friday, February 9th. Lots of opportunities to volunteer. A great family friendly event. Chairs: Jenny Anderson (jkanderson7100@hotmail.com) and Heather Fichter (hfichter25@gmail.com)

Book Fair: Organize the sale of books during the Spring Book Fair.
Chairs: Heather Rudalavage (heather.rudalavage@gmail.com), Sandra Atherholt (sandra_atherholt@yahoo.com), and Lisa Lester (lisaylester@verizon.net)

Books and Bagels: Organize and run a before school event on Friday, March 2nd where students read a book with their parents.
Chairs: Gretchen Skwer (gretchen.a.skwer@gmail.com) and Melissa Skahan (melissa_skahan@hotmail.com)

Burning for Learning 5K: Help organize the 4th annual FWES 5K run (and 1 mile fun walk) in the spring. This professionally-timed race is open to the community.
Chairs: Jenn Fountain (jfountai@gmail.com), Amanda Matthews (amanda.matthews@comcast.net), Liz Noon (eknoon@travelers.com), Annie Marcucci (annie.marcucci@abc-usa.org), Justine Shervin (justine.shervin@yahoo.com)

Cash Back: Manage and promote Box Tops, Giant A+ and Target cards, and other Cash Back programs. Chairs: Jesse Conte (nittlylion@yahoo.com), Joyce Weber

Cradles to Crayons (C2C): C2C is a non-profit organization that provides clothing and school supplies to children. Volunteers are needed to help organize and run our in-school Giving Factory in the Spring. Chairs: Julia Watt (jbrinowatt@gmail.com) and Elise Shockey (eliseshockey@yahoo.com)

Distribution: Coordinate volunteers and distribute mail for the Friday folders. 
Chairs: Debbie Rothkopf (debbierothkopf@aol.com), Allison Claxton (alibabbles@comcast.net)

Fall Fundraiser: Help organize sale of games and coupon books in the fall.
Chairs: Amanda Jones (amandajonesmd@gmail.com), Laurie Guagliardo (lguagliardo@hotmail.com)

Field Day: Help organize and run a morning of games for grades K-5 in May.
Chairs: Leslie DiMartile (ldimartile@gmail.com) and Staci Hoffmann (stacihoffmann@verizon.net)

Fourth and Fifth Grade Dance Party: Help plan a dance party!
Chairs: Donna Murphy (donnamurphy@verizon.net, Jenny Anderson (jkanderson7100@hotmail.com)

Front Window Display: Decorate the front window of the school and display case.
Chair: Jen Kuznitz (jenkuznits@gmail.com)

FWES Grows Here: Help with the designated gardens around the school.
Chairs: Michele Miller (michelebrant@aol.com), Julia Watt (jbrinowatt@gmail.com), Katie Reilly (katie.e.reilly@gmail.com), Julie Haberbusch (juliehabs@hotmail.com)

Holiday Shop: Organize and run the holiday shop. Planning begins in October.
Chairs: Maureen Ryan (lilmo29@yahoo.com) and Laurie Guagliardo (lguagliardo@hotmail.com)

Jump Rope for Heart: Help with water and popsicles at the event and help distribute prizes building up to the event and the day after.
Chairs: Debbie Rothkopf (debbierothkopf@aol.com) and Sandra Atherholt (sandra_atherholt@yahoo.com)

Kindergarten Meet and Greet: Help organize the kindergarten meet and greets for 2018.
Chair: Needed

On the Spot Volunteers: Last minute help when needed!
Chair: Debbie Rothkopf (debbierothkopf@aol.com)


School Store: Organize the purchase and sale of items at FWES school store.
Chairs: Jamie Jakubowitz (jamie@jakubowitz.net), Pam Olshefski (pamela.olshefski@yahoo.com)

School Supply Kit: Organize the school supply kit fundraiser .
Chair: Debbie Rothkopf (debbierothkopf@aol.com)

Science & Technology Expo: Help organize and run the 4th annual science fair in early March.
Chair: Jesse Conte (nittlylion@yahoo.com)

Spirit Wear: Organize sale and distribution of FWES clothing and accessories in the fall and spring.
Chair: Sherri Gregg(sherri.gregg@comcast.net)

Spring Fair: Help organize the annual Spring Fair in May.

Chairs: Michele Miller (michelebrant@aol.com) and Julie Haberbusch (juliehabs@hotmail.com)

Teacher Appreciation: Arrange a faculty appreciation luncheon in May.
Chairs: Ashley Frearson (ashleyfrearson@comcast.net), Jenny Shapiro (jennywshapiro@hotmail.com)

Trivia Night: Assist in planning trivia night in the fall and spring.
Chairs: Pam Olshefski (pamela.olshefski@yahoo.com), Jen Kuznitz (jenkuznitz@gmail.com)

Turkey Trot: Assist teachers with a school-wide fitness walk in November.
Chairs:Christina Sunday (exercisequeen076@gmail.com), Jenny Shapiro (jennywshapiro@hotmail.com)

Welcome Back Social: Help plan and run a family welcome back event in September.
Chairs: Frances Graham (frances.graham@uphs.upenn.edu) and Kate St. Clair (kmsaint@verizon.net)

Yearbook: Volunteers needed to take photos of classroom events/activities/clubs, help design yearbook layout to meet deadlines, and coordinate yearbook sales and distribution. High quality photos are always needed and can be sent to FWESphotos@gmail.com.
Chairs: Jen Iannitti (salmon.jennifer@gmail.com) and Jenny Anderson (jkanderson7100@hotmail.com)


5th Grade Committees


Pretzel Sales:
Need fifth grade parents to organize pretzel sales and distribute on Fridays. Proceeds offset student cost of 5th grade trip.

Chairs: TBD

Fifth Grade Picnic: Help organize games and food for fifth grade picnic in June. 

Chairs: TBD


Fifth Grade Spirt Wear: Responsible for the creation of the 5th grade field trip shirt.

Chair: TBD


Fifth Grade Play: Help organize and run the 5th grade play, after school in the spring.

Chairs: TBD


Fifth Grade Gift: Help to organize the 5th grade gift to the school.

Chair: TBD


Fifth Grade Flag Football: Help to organize the 5th grade flag football fundraiser.

Chair: TBD


Fifth Grade Time Capsule: Responsible for the creation of the time capsule video of all fifth grade students.

Chairs: Hilary Kingery (hilarykingery@gmail.com)